Skip to content

Delete a conversation

Request

Irreversible operation

Deleting a conversation is permanent and cannot be reversed.

Deleting a conversation permanently removes it from the inbox. All sensitive data is deleted, including admin and user replies, conversation attributes, uploads, and related content. The conversation will still appear in reporting, though some data may be incomplete due to the deletion.

Security
bearerAuth
Path
idintegerrequired

id

Headers
Intercom-Versionstring(intercom_version)

Intercom API version.
By default, it's equal to the version set in the app package.

Default:"2.14"
Enum:"1.0""1.1""1.2""1.3""1.4""2.0""2.1""2.2""2.3""2.4"
Example:2.14
curl -i -X DELETE \
  'https://api.intercom.io/conversations/{id}' \
  -H 'Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN_HERE>' \
  -H 'Intercom-Version: 2.14'

Responses

successful

Bodyapplication/json
idstring

The unique identifier for the conversation.

Example:"5ba682d23d7cf92bef87bfd4"
objectstring

always conversation

Value:"conversation"
Example:"conversation"
deletedboolean

Whether the conversation is deleted or not.

Example:true
Response
{ "id": "512", "object": "conversation", "deleted": true }