Skip to content

Delete a conversation

Request

Irreversible operation

Deleting a conversation is permanent and cannot be reversed.

You can delete a single conversation. The behavior depends on the retain_metrics parameter:

  • With retain_metrics=true (default): Deletes the conversation while retaining reporting data. The conversation will still appear in reporting, though some data may be incomplete due to the deletion.

  • With retain_metrics=false: Deletes the conversation and all associated reporting data. The conversation will be completely removed from both the inbox and all reporting.

Required scope for retain_metrics=false

Using retain_metrics=false requires the delete_conversations_and_metrics OAuth scope.

For more info, see this help center article.

Security
bearerAuth
Path
conversation_idintegerrequired

id

Query
retain_metricsboolean

If true (default), deletes the conversation while retaining reporting data. If false, deletes the conversation and all associated reporting data. Setting to false requires the delete_conversations_and_metrics OAuth scope.

Example:retain_metrics=true
Headers
Intercom-Versionstring(intercom_version)

Intercom API version.
By default, it's equal to the version set in the app package.

Default:"2.16"
Enum:"1.0""1.1""1.2""1.3""1.4""2.0""2.1""2.2""2.3""2.4"
Example:2.16
curl -i -X DELETE \
  'https://api.intercom.io/conversations/{conversation_id}?retain_metrics=true' \
  -H 'Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN_HERE>' \
  -H 'Intercom-Version: 2.16'

Responses

successful

Bodyapplication/json
idstring

The unique identifier for the conversation.

Example:"5ba682d23d7cf92bef87bfd4"
objectstring

always conversation

Value:"conversation"
Example:"conversation"
deletedboolean

Whether the conversation is deleted or not.

Example:true
Response
{ "id": "512", "object": "conversation", "deleted": true }