- Delete a conversation
Deleting a conversation is permanent and cannot be reversed.
You can delete a single conversation. The behavior depends on the retain_metrics parameter:
With
retain_metrics=true(default): Deletes the conversation while retaining reporting data. The conversation will still appear in reporting, though some data may be incomplete due to the deletion.With
retain_metrics=false: Deletes the conversation and all associated reporting data. The conversation will be completely removed from both the inbox and all reporting.
Using retain_metrics=false requires the delete_conversations_and_metrics OAuth scope.
For more info, see this help center article.
Intercom API version.
If you omit the header, the API uses the version set in your app package, and 1.0 if none is set.
- The production API serverhttps://api.intercom.io/conversations/{id}
- The european API serverhttps://api.eu.intercom.io/conversations/{id}
- The australian API serverhttps://api.au.intercom.io/conversations/{id}
curl -i -X DELETE \
'https://api.intercom.io/conversations/{id}?retain_metrics=true' \
-H 'Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN_HERE>' \
-H 'Intercom-Version: Preview'{ "id": "512", "object": "conversation", "deleted": true }